Apply for National Department Of Social Development Bursary South Africa

By | April 13, 2019

The Department of Social Development, established in 1937, is a government department in South Africa which is responsible for the management of social security, social assistance and social insurance due to loss of income – either by unemployment, age, death or disability.



Application forms can be collected from the Provincial Departments of Social Development or from the Social Work faculty of your University.
Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):

  • ID document (certified copy),
  • Matric final results (certified copy),
  • Parents/ guardians ID documents (certified copies),
  • Parents/ guardians proof of income (payslips/ affidavit if unemployed),
  • Proof of admission into University/ proof of admission payment for,
  • Current University students must also include: academic record on official University letterhead.


Applications Must Be Submitted To Departments Of Social Development Office Within Your Province:

Eastern Cape:
Physical Address: The Department of Social Development, Beacon Hill Office Park, Corner of Hargreaves Road and Hockley Close, Ground Floor, Room 50, King William’s Town, 5606
Postal Address: Private Bag X0039, BHISHO, 5606

Free State
Physical Address: The Department of Social Development, Old Mutual Building, Charlotte Maxeke Street, Fourth Floor (Room 408), Bloemfontein, 9300
Postal Address: Private Bag X20616, Bloemfontein, 9300

Physical Address: Gauteng Social Development, 75 Commissioner Street, Johannesburg, 2000
Postal Address: Private Bag X35, Johannesburg, 2000

Kwazulu Natal
Physical Address: Mayors Walk Office Park, 174 Mayors Walk Road, Pietermaritzburg, 3200

Physical Address: The Head, Bursary Section, Social Development, 18 College Street, Polokwane, 0700
Postal Address: Private Bag X9710, Polokwane, 0700

Physical Address: The Head, Bursary Section, The Department of Social Development, No 7 Government Boulevard, Riverside Complex, Building No.3 2nd Floor, Nelspruit, 1200
Postal Address: Private Bag X11213, Nelspruit, 1200

Northern Cape
Physical Address: Department of Social Development, Du Toit Span Building (15th Floor), Du Toit Span Street, Kimberley, 8300
Postal Address: Private Bag X5042, Kimberley, 8300

North West
Physical Address: Department Of Social Development, Provident House Building, University Drive, Mmabatho, 2735
Postal Address: Private Bag x 6, Mmabatho, 2735

Western Cape
Physical Address: 14 Queen Victoria Street, Union Building, Cape Town, 8000
Postal Address: P.O Box 659, Cape Town, 8000


For any queries related to this bursary programme, please contact the National Department of Social Development directly:
Contact People: Ms Vuyelwa Mngadi / Ms Kefiloe Fokase
Tel: 012 312 7294 / 012 312 7223



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *